2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2010 4:47 PM by Rhino_1

Asset/Inventory Management

Rhino_1

Title

Asset/Inventory Management

Hi,

I'm totally new to FM but after some research seriously think it may be the solution for my problem. So, I'll explain my situation and proposed workflow idea. 

My section of the company among many other responsibilities stores a large majority of the companies resources and assets. These assets include simple things like torches and handheld radios right up to desktop/laptop computers and large well equipped vehicles & trucks. To put it in simple terms we are involved in event management and planning. We will plan an event, identify what resources are required for the event and then hand over those resources to the staff responsible for executing the event management plan. Then post event all the gear is returned to us. Some of the equipment is identifiable i.e. serial numbers but other items are not i.e. notepads or various booklets etc. 

At present one of my administration officers lists all the items using excel so that it can be tracked and audited but as you can imagine this system is very basic, labour intensive and very much prone to user error. 

I guess you are starting to get an idea of what I am after (hopefully) based on the above description. Basically what I'd love is a system whereby all the assets we are responsible for are placed in a database,  clients book the assets out by signing out a printed report of some form listing all items they are taking. The system then records and tracks all assests and can at any time produce reports on various things like client activity, individual assets etc etc etc. 

I use both PC and Mac at home but at work it's all PC. In fact I'd be quite happy to have the entire system running from one standalone PC rather than the network.