7 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2010 9:55 AM by bablahemen

AUTO COMPLETE FIELD

NOLAK

Title

AUTO COMPLETE FIELD

HELLO EVERYONE,

IM NEW TO FMP AND WOULD APPRECIATE ANY HELP.

I HAVE A TEXT FIELD ON A TABLE WHERE THE USER TYPES IN THE NAME OF A PRODUCT (NAME OF MOVIE) AND POSSIBLE OPTIONS APPEAR AS THE USER IS TYPING.

EXAMPLE:

AS THE USER TYPES:  P R I

POSSIBLE OPTIONS WOULD DISPLAY: PRIMER, PRINCESS DIARIES, PRINCE OF TIDES, etc.

THEN THE USER CAN SELECT THE OPTION OR JUST KEEP TYPING THE NAME OF THE MOVIE IF ITS NOT ALREADY THERE.

I KNOW THERE IS AN OPTION FOR AUTOCOMPLETE USING PREVIOUSLY ENTERED VALUES AND WHAT IM LOOKING FOR IS SIMILAR BUT INSTEAD OF PREVIOUSLY ENTERED VALUES I NEED VALUES FROM A RELATED TABLE, AND WOULD LIKE THE OPTIONS TO APPEAR IN SOMETHING LIKE A DROPDOWN LIKE WHEN YOU DO A SEARCH IN GOOGLE OR IN A BROWSER.

IM SURE THIS IS POSSIBLE BECAUSE IVE SEEN IT DONE JUST NOT SURE HOW.

ANYTHING POINTING ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION HELPS.

THANKS

• 1. Re: AUTO COMPLETE FIELD
          ninja

Howdy Nolak,

You really like capital letters...a lot.

Your field would be formatted on the layout as a drop down, based on a value list, using autocomplete.

Value list:

Define your value list based on the other table's field.  No problem doing this.  Manage>Value Lists...select the proper field.

Drop down:

Modify the field setup from "Edit Box" to "Dropdown..."

While you're there, check the box for autocomplete using value list (name the value list you made above).

And you're good to go.

Let us know how it works for you.

• 2. Re: AUTO COMPLETE FIELD
            philmodjunk

Do you want to display all values from the related table or just those that match some value in the current record?

Both options are possible.

To show all values in the related table (or even an unrelated table).

Open Manage | Value Lists...

Create a new value list

Click the specify field button

Select your table