2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2013 1:11 PM by cjferrera

AUTO ENTER A FIELD VALUE BASED UPON THE ENTRY OF SPECIFIC FIELD IN A LAYOUT

cjferrera

Title

AUTO ENTER A FIELD VALUE BASED UPON THE ENTRY OF SPECIFIC FIELD IN A LAYOUT

Hi, I am new to FileMaker and the Forum.

I wonder if anyone might be able to help me with a Script Trigger & Script.

OBJECTIVE:  Automatically enter the Unit Price for a selected Part Number.

TABLES::  Two; Estimate Data & Part Catalog

LAYOUT:  One; Estimate Data

VERSION: FileMaker Pro 12 Advanced

The Part Number is entered into the Part Number field in Estimate Data Layout and I am trying to  pull Unit Price from the Parts Catalog Table.  

I believe the Script Trigger to use is OnObjectSave and I have pulled this Script Trigger together with Script steps, however, I can't seem to get it to work.

Can anyone help?

Thank you,

Chuck Ferrera 

• 1. Re: AUTO ENTER A FIELD VALUE BASED UPON THE ENTRY OF SPECIFIC FIELD IN A LAYOUT
          philmodjunk

You don't need any scripts nor any script trigger. You do need this relationship:

Estimate Data>------Part catalog

Estimate Data::_fkPartID = Part Catalog::__pkPartID

For an explanation of the notation that I am using, see the first post of: Common Forum Relationship and Field Notations Explained

With that relationship in place, when you senter or select a part ID in _fkPartID, a Unit price field in Estimate Data can be set up to auto-enter the unit price from the corresponding record in part catalog.

Find the Unit Price field defined in the Estimate Data table in Manage | database | Fields. Double click it to open Field Options. Use the Looked Up value option on the Auto-Enter tab to copy over the unit price from the unit price field in Part catalog.