4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2014 10:39 AM by JennyArntzen

Auto Enter Last Visited endtime into New Record startime

JennyArntzen

Title

Auto Enter Last Visited endtime into New Record startime

Hi Everyone,

I am a long time Filemaker developer (self taught) and new to this forum. I am looking forward to being part of the community!

I have been looking everywhere for a way to get the endtime field from my previous record to automatically input into my startime field in my new record. I want to set up Auto Enter Last Visited to bring data from the endtime field and put it into my new record startime field. Has anyone figured this out? Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Auto Enter Last Visited endtime into New Record startime
          philmodjunk

Will the record for the previous visit always be the previous record in your found set at the time that you enter this data? If so, you can set up an auto-enter calculation using the GetNthRecord function to copy data from the preceding record in the found set.

A more reliable method that does not require that the record for the previous visit be the preceding record in the found set is to use a relationship that matches only to the previous visit record. The details for setting that up will depend on the current set of tables and fields involved.

• 2. Re: Auto Enter Last Visited endtime into New Record startime
            JennyArntzen

Thanks for your reply!

The application is a time tracking system for remote inputs by workers on site. The current problem I am addressing is simply having the endtime from the previous record Auto Enter the new record as I am inputting batches of records into the system. Ideally, I want to set up the system so workers in the field, inputting from their ipads or iphones, see only their entries, and when they hit New Entry, the endtime from their previous record automatically shows up in their startime field.