8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2010 2:40 PM by JonFinley

Auto enter problems (since updating FM7 pro to FM11 Pro)

JonFinley

Title

Auto enter problems (since updating FM7 pro to FM11 Pro)

I recently upgraded from FM7 to FM11.  I have two fields: "Material" and "Material Cost". When I enter an abreviation (ie "w") in "Material", tab out,  it will search the table "Material List" (includes 3 fields: "Abbreviation", "Cost", and "Material") for the abbreviation, and replace the "w" with "8 1/2 x 11 20# white"  in the "Material" field. This works fine.

In FM7, I had it set up to also, after tabbing out of the "Material" field, to find the costs of that paper, and enter it into the "Material Cost" field. After upgrading to FM11, this step stopped working. I didn't change any relationships or lookup specs. I just upgraded, and opened the database I have been using for 5 years. I'm working around it by entering the abbreviation (the same one I entered in the "Material" field) into the "Material Cost" field. When I tab out, it enters the cost of that material. This is an extra step, with extra possibilities of mistakes. What changed from FM7 to FM11?

• 1. Re: Auto enter problems (since updating FM7 pro to FM11 Pro)
          philmodjunk

Please describe your relationships and exactly how you've set up this look up (There are several ways this could have been set up). Maybe then someone will be able to spot something that explains this.

• 2. Re: Auto enter problems (since updating FM7 pro to FM11 Pro)
            JonFinley

I have established a relationship between "Billing:Material" and "Material Charge:Abbreviation"

"Billing:Material" is set to copy information (look up) from "Material Charge:Material"

"Billing:Material Cost" is set to copy information (look up) from "Material Charge:Cost"