3 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2012 6:15 AM by philmodjunk

Auto enter serial invoice little problem

D3signer

Title

Auto enter serial invoice little problem

Hi,

I'm just new to FMPA 12. For my invoices I use the following calculation:

Right ( "00" & Invoicenumber ; 3 )  & Right  ( Year ( Datum ) ; 4 )

With this result: 0012012   (for first invoice of 2012).

Now my problem is with the field type of 'Invoicenumber'. It's an auto enter serial type. I would prefer when a new record has been created and it has been a mistake, that the invoicenumber would remain by the last invoicenumber when deleted.

Example: Invoicenumber is at #11, I create a new invoice, so # 12 has been asigned to this new Invoice.

I delete this one. When I create a new one now, I would prefer it to be again # 12 and not # 13.

Since i'm very new to this... i have no clue how to this... (hope my question is clear).

Any suggestions?

• 1. Re: Auto enter serial invoice little problem
          philmodjunk

A script could reset the serial number value to one value less to eliminate the gap in the invoice number sequence, but this must be done with care as it could result in invoices with duplicate numbers if not implemented correctly. If your understand how to write a script, look up Set Next Serial Value to see how this could be done.

A simpler solution may be to keep the invoice record created in error, but change a status field in it as "void". Then you have a sequence of Invoice numbers that are free of gaps--which makes auditors happy.

Another method is to keep the Primary Key for linking invoices to other tables such as a line items table separate from the invoice number printed on the invoice. The primary key is generated when you create the invoice, the invoice number is generated via script from a related table when you print or mark the invoice as "complete".

• 2. Re: Auto enter serial invoice little problem
            D3signer

Hi Phil,