1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2013 1:22 PM by philmodjunk

Auto Fill

JordanSherrard

Title

Auto Fill

Hey, 

So I have a list of all my clientelle and would like to be able to transfer some info from this list into another seperate list called schedule.  What I am trying to accomplish is that when a new record is created in my client list it will auto create the same thing in my schedule list using select feilds to fill in the needed info on the schedule list.

I have tried the Replace Field command but that wasn't what I needed.

Should my script be something like: onobjectsave: perform script.

Script:

GoToLayout

NewRecord

Auto Fill

I am still learning the scripting side of Filemaker.  There is lots of info to cover.

Any help is appreciated.

• 1. Re: Auto Fill
          philmodjunk

You may not need much scripting. See this thread on two possible approaches: Auto Fill

• 2. Re: Auto Fill
            JordanSherrard

I was just about to type in here that I have tried 3 methods that are available on the forums already.

I have a relationship set up between my 2 tables and and such but still not working.  I currently have minimal scripting but need to still be able to partially modify this auto filled data in certain areas. So I utilized "In addition to your Main::ContactID field, you simply add the name and address fields from Contacts to your Main layout. When you select a Contact in Main::ContactID, the info from the matching Contacts record will automatically appear." and that is still not helping. 

Am I missing something?

• 3. Re: Auto Fill
              JordanSherrard

And I should also mention that I have auto fill working in another area of my database.  

Under Desktop I have a table called Client List.  This List auto fills the data in Client Records with no Issue.  All I did was when I was inserting the containers I used the value fields from the client list Table.