3 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2012 4:32 AM by GuyStevens

Auto Populate fields from one field.( Lookup ?? )

DaveDave

Title

Auto Populate fields from one field.( Lookup ?? )

Hi All,

Have been chasing my tail trying to populate several fields from the answer of another field.

I'll keep it simple .

Database contains three fileds

Customer, Address and Serial Number.

What I'm trying to achieve is when I type a serial number into the serial number field it looks up and auto populates the customer and address field with the correct information.

Please bear in mind Im new to this, so please explain like your talking to a three year old !!. I've  tryied many examples but cant find one that populates the fields.  

I'm assuming I will need two tables that have relationships setup and I'm guessing I should be using the LookUp Script ?

If anybody could help me out that would be much appreciated or even send over a sample file which I could dissect and lean from.

Thanks  Dave'O

• 1. Re: Auto Populate fields from one field.( Lookup ?? )
          GuyStevens

Hey Dave,

You would be right in needing two tables.

The idea is that you create two tables that each have their own ID field.
          This field should be a number field with the auto enter option of "Serial Number"
          Then in one of tho two fields you provide a number field to store the ID of the other table. That's called a "Foreign Id".

So you'll have something like this:

Customers = is the table
          ID -  is a number field with the auto enter option of "Serial Number"   So the first record is number "1" the second one "2" etc.
          FirstName
          LastName
          Adress
          You could also make a calculation field that calculates the full name.

Then you make a second table. I don't know what you need to make exactly,
          but let's say you are a doctor and you need to create admissions for patients.