3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2014 2:40 PM by philmodjunk

Auto update of username and timestamp when a record is modified

rakeshkatipalli

Title

Auto update of username and timestamp when a record is modified

Hi every one .

I am very new to this technology. In my database file i have a field called "notes" of length 5000. Whenever a user enter data into that field it has to display the user name and timestamp followed by the data he has entered.

For example first the user "user1" is modified. Now it has to display the user name and timestamp followed by the data. Next time if "user2" has modified , it has to display his username and timestamp followed by the data.

Now this field should contain "user1","timestamp" followed by the data and "user2", "timestamp" followed by the data and so on.

Example data in the field: Rakesh(user1), 14:02:10. Hi everyone

Danny (user2), 09:10:11. Hello all

• 1. Re: Auto update of username and timestamp when a record is modified
          philmodjunk

This looks like data that should be recorded in three separate fields, in two different records. A Time (your example is not consistent with a time stamp as it would include the date) or timestamp field, a text field for the user name and a text field for the user's note. Each user would then create a new record for their note and these notes would in most cases be displayed in a portal as they are usually associated with a record in another table that is the object of these notes.

With that set up, a text field can be set up in Field Options to auto-enter the creator's user name. The Time(stamp) field can auto enter the creation time(stamp) and this will all happen automatically when the user either types data into the third field or clicks a button to create a new portal record. (There are two ways to create a new record in a portal.)

• 2. Re: Auto update of username and timestamp when a record is modified
            rakeshkatipalli