11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2011 12:02 PM by JessicaKeyes

Auto-create record in related table

JessicaKeyes

Title

Auto-create record in related table

I know this has been discussed, but I'm very new to FM and I haven't been able to figure out how to solve my problem.

I have a very simple database for a veterinary ultrasound business.  Table 1 contains individual records for each scan that has been performed.  Table 2 contains the names, species, and breeds of the patients with portals to show the important data from Table 1 (some patients have multiple scans, but most do not).  I'm doing the bulk of my data entry into Table 1, and I want it to automatically create new patient records in Table 2 when I put someone new into Table 1. What is the best way to do this?

Also, I've seen a lot of posters referring to record IDs, and I understand that this is a number that can be automatically generated. Is this necessary? What do you miss out on if you don't create record IDs?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Auto-create record in related table
          philmodjunk

I think you are confusing two slightly different things. There are auto-entered serial numbers and there are record ID's. Record ID's can be referenced with Get ( RecordID ), but aren't a good choice for the field that links on table to another. A number field defined to auto-enter a serial number is a much better field to use for this purpose.

1st you need to relate your two tables. Let's call Table1, Scans and Table2, Patients. You may have already done this. In Manage | Database | Fields, define a field, PatientID, in the Patients table as a number field, select Option, click the auto enter tab and specify the serial number option. Define a matching number field in Scans, but do not define it as an auto-entered serial number.