12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2010 1:55 PM by philmodjunk

Auto-fill multiple names and phone numbers

m3m3m3

Title

Auto-fill multiple names and phone numbers

Hi,

I am relatively new to FileMaker 11.  I have a database that has 8 different drop down menus for names.  I need phone numbers to match up and automatically be filled in next to each person's name when the it's selected.  

Reading through the forums and various websites, I've tried lookups and creating relationships to no avail.  This has been a very frustrating process so far.  

If anyone can PLEASE PLEASE spell this out for me, like talking to someone who has never used a computer before, that would be very helpful and greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Auto-fill multiple names and phone numbers
          philmodjunk

Please help us to help you.

Please describe the tables you've set up to do this, then we can step your through the process of linking them in relationships and setting up looked up value field options that will work for you.

8 different name drop downs seems a bit unusual, it may be that there's a design change that can simplify things so you don't have so many different drop downs.

• 2. Re: Auto-fill multiple names and phone numbers
            m3m3m3

Essentially, it is a job assignment sheet.  It has the job name, number, who is assigned to what position, machinery used, and dates.  I would like for their phone numbers to pop up next to their name.  Usually there are up to eight people working on a job at once--hence the 8 necessary fields.  So unfortunately, that part cannot change.

I have set up two tables - the main one which will contain all the information for the job: number, project, location, machinery used, dates, position and personnel.   In hopes to create a relationship I created a second table that contains strictly names in one field and phone numbers in the next.