3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2012 11:09 AM by philmodjunk

autofill from a table?

FrankBell

Title

autofill from a table?

I'd like to make a layout which would include fields in which a user could enter names (make a list of names), but those names would be restricted to a table of eligible names (about 200 names). Hopefully, those names would autofill from the table of available names. Can this be done?

(To explain, I want a trip "card", on which field trip info could be entered, then space for a list of names of those going... but there'd be a list of eligible students from which to pick, to help prevent mistakes, wrong names, ineligible students, etc. from being entered).

(Yes, I'm a newbie... please be explicit!!)

• 1. Re: autofill from a table?
          philmodjunk

If you set this up with one name per field (best design is one name per record), you can define a value list of names from the other table with auto-complete enabled so that you need only type in a few letters to narrow the list down to just a few or even one name to select for the field.

1. Open manage | value lists
          2. Create a new value list and use the "Use values from field" option to list the names from the specific name field in your table of names.
          3. Click OK to dismiss this dialog.
          4. Then select a text field on your layout where the user will enter a name and use the data tab of the inspector to format it as a drop down list. Enable the "autocomplete using value list" option and you have your value list.
          • 2. Re: autofill from a table?
            FrankBell

Ok, thanks for the guidance, PhilModJunk… but I’m still having trouble. Maybe you can point out my error? Here's some more detail.