5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2013 10:22 AM by philmodjunk

Autofill/autocomplete certain fields with relative information from a different database

JavierTormes

Title

Autofill/autocomplete certain fields with relative information from a different database

Before posting this I’ve searched and searched, the problem is I don’t know what exactly to search not in english neither in spanish.

So, here’s the thing:

I’ve made a small database for some actors I work with, with some info about them and the current work they’re doing, so far so good.

But I would like to make another database with the contact info of their managers, so that way, I could just select the manager from a list on the field “manager”, and the phone numbers and the emails pop in the corresponding fields “phone 1” “phone 2” “email 1” “email 2”.

I suppose this is posible, I just can’t figure out how, additionally I’m no expert on relations among databases or tables.

Athough I do speak some english, don’t be afraid to talk me like a 5 year old kid.

I'm putting some screenshots of what I mean to happen (it's simulated manually). Behold the fancy animation I've made for you.

fancy-animation-.gif

• 1. Re: Autofill/autocomplete certain fields with relative information from a different database
          philmodjunk

I understand that you want to select the manager's name and see their contact information? The details of that will depend on the way you structure that information in the manager's table, but the basic method is as follows:

Define a relationship between Managers and Actors. I am assuming that each actor has only one manager:

Managers-----<Actors

Managers::__pkManagerID = Actors::_fkManagerID