1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2009 10:49 AM by philmodjunk

Automated insertion of Number based on Textual value of a dropdown menu

nader

Title

Automated insertion of Number based on Textual value of a dropdown menu

Hello everyone,

I am new to FMP and any help would be appreciated.

I have to related tables, What Im trying to do is to insert a number in a filed in second table based on a selection from first table. Values in the first table is a text entry and they are E , L, N and LD in a dropdown menu. I want FMP to insert 7.5, 7.5, 11 and 11 into different field on the second table.

Is this possible and How???

Thank you all in advance for helpipng me

• 1. Re: Automated insertion of Number based on Textual value of a dropdown menu
          TSGal

Talimar:

Thank you for your post.

Yes, you can insert information into a related field based upon a value from a field in another table, and this can be accomplished via a script and a script trigger.

Visually think of what you want to accomplish automatically after the value is entered in the first table (for this example, TABLE1).  That is, take that value, switch to the record in the related table (TABLE2), and insert into the related field, the number based on that original value.  Let's put this into a script.

Pull down the Scripts menu and select "Manage Scripts..."

In the bottom left corner of the Manage Scripts dialog box, click the "+ New" icon to create a new script.

Name the new script "UpdateValue", and select and add the following script steps:

Go to Related Record (From table: "TABLE2" ; Using layout: <layout name> (TABLE2) ]

Set Field [ <related field> ; Case ( TABLE1:: <field> = "E" or TABLE1:: <field> = "L" ; 7.5 ; 11) ]

Go to Layout [ <layout name> (TABLE1) ]

-------

That is, go to the related record in TABLE2, and set the field to either 7.5 (if original field from TABLE1 is "E" or "L" ) or 11 ("N" or "LD" ).

Close the script and save it.