6 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2010 12:12 PM by aammondd

automated revision tracking and sorting

jalexand

Title

automated revision tracking and sorting

Hi guys,

I'm new to filemaker pro (I have version 11) but not to scripting (although it's been a long long time).  I am running windows7, 64-bit.  

I am a scientist at a University and I have a series of data that I need to manage.  This data will be changing through time and I want to keep track of these changes.  I want to be able to look at the latest for a given project or experiment, but i want all previous entries to be retained.

For example, let's say I have the following fields:  (of course it is more complicated than this, but to illustrate my point I think this will suffice).

project #  (this is a number)

experiment #   (this is also a number)

notes   (this will be text)

so I would have the following records, for example:

project: 1, experiment: 1, notes: blah-blah

project: 1, experiment: 2, notes: bloo-bloo

project: 1, experiment: 3, notes: blee-blee

project: 2, experiment: 1, notes: bluk-bluk

and so on ...

now, I want to go and edit project: 1, experiment: 2 and change the notes field to yaya-yaya

What i want is for there to be a record of this change.

My solution is to create a "revision" field for each record.  This is filled with a timestamp (date/time) for when it was created.  So when I want to edit the record, I first click 'duplicate" which will create a duplicate record with a new timestamp.  I then make my changes.  Now I can just look for the record with the latest timestamp.

So in our example, I'd have:

project: 1, experiment: 2, notes: bloo-bloo, revision: 5/17/2010 8:56:26 AM

project: 1, experiment: 2, notes: yaya-yaya, revision: 5/19/2010 4:26:46 PM

The approach seems like a decent one, but if there is a better one, I'd love to hear it.