7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2013 10:30 AM by philmodjunk

Automated service timer

AndrewGuy

Title

Automated service timer

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Filemaker pro 12, having spend about 3 weeks building a database to keep track of customer records. One very important feature I have been struggling with is an automated way to alert us in the office when a customer's service is up for their boat. The way we want this to happen is to put a date in a field, and then after the specified amount of time (4 months, 1 year, 2 years), a check-box would automatically check itself, and we could sort records based on this to view who needs service. I have tried various scripts, such as I have built a script to check whether the fields date is a certain amount of time away from the current date, and this date check seems to work, but I am having trouble getting the script to run for all of our 1000+ records and update them all. I feel like there has got to be a simple way to do this, but am unsure.

Thanks! 

• 1. Re: Automated service timer
          philmodjunk

Months are not all the same number of days nor are years all the same number of days. Would 120 days work for "4 months" and 365 days work for "1 year"? If so, that simplifies the math a bit.

You can use an unstored calculation field that checks Get ( CurrentDate ) against the computed date due:

Get ( CurrenDate ) > DueDate

Select Number as the result type.

FOrmat the field with a value list of just 1 as the only value in the value list and select a check box format.

The field will automatically update to show a 1 when service is due.

The actual calculation for dueDate if you want to be able to specify an interval in months or years can be a bit more complex.

Here's a simple version:

DateOfLastService + MonthstoNextService * 30

Select Date ast the Result type and make DateOfLastService a field of type date.