5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 15, 2013 4:37 PM by philmodjunk

Automatic foreign key populated from a primary key for several tables

ngarnier

Title

Automatic foreign key populated from a primary key for several tables

I am a complete Filemaker novice, so please bear with me.

ISSUE: I have a database with lots of tables (like 30 tables), and I need the "subject number id" from the 1st table, the primary key, to automatically populate into a drop down or pop up on all the other tables (into the foreign keys) so that the new record on the next layout/table is related/associated to that particular subject number.

ie - if I had 3 tables, I would need the foreign key field in the 2nd and 3rd table to pull in the primary key info from the 1st table as a drop down or pop up. 

I want my end user to be able to click into the foreign key field and get a list of primary keys from the 1st table then can just choose.  I don't want them to have to click "new record" for every layout they go to to enter data.

All of my foreign key text fields are unique and are related in the relationship graph to the one unique primary key field.

database_relationships1.png

• 1. Re: Automatic foreign key populated from a primary key for several tables
          philmodjunk

You discuss two different requirements: 1) A drop down list for selecting the ID of a parent record in table 1 and not needing to Select New Record. Selecting New Record does nothing by itself to put the value of the primary key in to the new record's foreign key field....

I think this is what you have in mind but it's a bit of a guess:

Define a field with global storage. You'll be able to copy and paste this field into any layout based on any of the many child tables.

Format it with a value list of all values from Table 1's Primary key field for field 1 and another field such as "cohort" for field 2 to enable the user to select the correct primary key from the drop down.