8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2011 4:18 PM by JeffPark

Automatically insert/delete multiple records in related table

ptt555

Title

Automatically insert/delete multiple records in related table

I'm new to filemaker pro, but have informix database design experience.   Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction here.  All help greatly appreciated!

Table#1 includes fields:

reference

startdate

enddate

status

Table#2 includes fields:

reference

date

status

CHALLENGE #1

At time of saving entry into Table#1, I need to insert a new row into Table#2 for each date from startdate to enddate inclusive.   Status would equal "pending" or "confirmed".

CHALLENGE #2

If the record's status in Table#1 is changed at any time to "Cancelled", I need to delete the related rows in Table#2

CHALLENGE #3

If the record in Table#1 remains "pending" or "confirmed" but has the startdate or enddate modified at any time, I need rows in Table#2 added or deleted so there remains a row for(and only for) each date from 'startdate' to 'enddate'

FM Pro10 Advanced on Mac

• 1. Re: Automatically insert/delete multiple records in related table
          philmodjunk

I'M assuming that your relationship between the two tables is defined in Manage | Database | Relationships as:

Table#1::Reference = Table#2Reference

And that Table#1::Reference is a primary key (Unique identifier, no duplicates)

Create a script:

Freeze Window

If [not isempty ( Table#1::StartDate ) and Not IsEmpty ( Table#1::EndDate ) ]

Set Variable [$Ref ; Value Table#1::Reference]

Set Variable [$Start ; Value: Table#1::StartDate]

Set Variable[$End; Value: Table#1::EndDate]

Set Variable[$Status; Value: Table#1::Status]

Go To Layout [Table#2]

Loop

Exit Loop IF [$Start > $End]

New Record/Request

Set Field [ Table#2:: Date ; $Start]

Set Field [ Table#2::Status ; $Status]

Set Field [ Table#2::Reference ; $Ref]

Set Variable [ $Start ; $Start + 1

End Loop

Go To Layout [original layout]

End IF