1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 30, 2009 3:56 PM by philmodjunk

Automating data entry

baumanay

Title

Automating data entry

I am new to FMP and databases in general. Have a database with two tables. One contains info on people (names, etc.). Second has questionnaire answered by those people. I have 17 layouts. 1 has info on people. Other 16 are pages of the questionnaire and also include person's name and id number. Would like to set it up so that when I create a record and enter in the person's data on layout 1, it will create a record for each page of the questionnaire and will enter in the person's name on each page. Any thoughts? Thanks,Ashley

• 1. Re: Automating data entry
          philmodjunk

baumanay wrote:
          I am new to FMP and databases in general. Have a database with two tables. One contains info on people (names, etc.). Second has questionnaire answered by those people. I have 17 layouts. 1 has info on people. Other 16 are pages of the questionnaire and also include person's name and id number. Would like to set it up so that when I create a record and enter in the person's data on layout 1, it will create a record for each page of the questionnaire and will enter in the person's name on each page. Any thoughts? Thanks,Ashley

With 17 layouts you won't be new to databases for long! :smileywink:

It sounds like you have 16 layouts that use different fields from the same Questionnaire table (let's call it Questions). I'm guessing you could greatly simplify this initial setup by redesigning your Questions table and then merging these 16 layouts into a single scrolling layout.

Regardless of whether you take that advice, here's the answer to your specific question.

Create a relationship linking People to Questions.

1. Select File | Manage Database | Fields
          2. You need an ID number in your Questions database as well as in your People table.
          3. If you haven't already done so, Define this field.