5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2010 1:10 PM by comment_1

Averaging Last 4 Weeks

GeorgeL

Title

Averaging Last 4 Weeks

Hi I'm pretty new to FM and wanted to know how to build a database properly in which I can import a weekly sales report and have a calculation for average units sold per week for the last 4 weeks.

I have two tables right now, one as the Product table with the UPC related to a Weekly_Sales table. As of now I'm using date codes by week (01-52) and the year as a separate field. I did this in order to find out sales trends by week. I also have a GLOBAL date code for the current date so it tags all the newly imported data as that week and year.

I'm having trouble finding the average for the last 4 weeks of units sold from the Weekly_Sales table automatically; especially if the its Week 01 Year 2010 I'm not sure how to get it to automatically calculate data from Week 49 Year 2009.

Let me know if I'm approaching this correctly and I'm open to other ways to approach this.

• 1. Re: Averaging Last 4 Weeks
          philmodjunk

I learned much of this from a post by Comment:

For starters, use this calculation on an actual date to record the week instead of two fields, one for the week and one for the year:

DateField - DayOfWeek(DateFIeld) + 1

This will take any date and return the date of the first day of that week (Sunday). This approach will allow your calcs to refer to weeks from the previous year.

IF the above calculation is a field called cWeek,

cWeek-21 will return the Sunday date 3 weeks earlier.

Let's call the field c4Week. Now you can make a second table occurrence of Weekly_Sales and link them as:

Weekly_Sales::c4Week < Weekly_Sales 2::cWeek AND

Weekly_Sales::cWeek > Weekly_Sales 2::cWeek

Now a calculation, Average ( Weekly_Sales 2::Units Sold) should give you the 4 week average.

• 2. Re: Averaging Last 4 Weeks
            GeorgeL