10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2012 2:35 PM by TimWalker

Avoiding COPY PASTE

TimWalker

Title

Avoiding COPY PASTE

I'm a novice with a challange.
      After using FM Go I found a script using COPY PASTE (worked fine for years) which copied a Trailing Grand Summary field from Invoices Table and PASTED to Contacts Table did not work. My script basically finds all Invoices with a balance due > 0 then totals all found records. Copies the result and Pastes to Contacts table field. I have tried to use a relationship but the field I want to use is grayed out.
      Is there any way to do this without COPY PASTE?

• 1. Re: Avoiding COPY PASTE
          philmodjunk

Copy and Paste script steps should be avoided whenever possible. There are better alternatives that can be used 99% of the time. Copy destroys any data the user has copied to the clipboard so running a script and having your copied data be mysteriously replaced by the data copied in the script can both annoy and confuse users. Boty copy and paste will silently fail to work if the field they reference is not present on the current layout when they are performed.

The general replacement for copy/paste is Set Variable/Set Field. You use set variable to "copy" the data into a variable and set field to "paste" the data from the variable into the target field.

• 2. Re: Avoiding COPY PASTE
            TimWalker

It looks like your answer uses "copy "paste"

Is it using the OS?

• 3. Re: Avoiding COPY PASTE
              philmodjunk

This is a method that widely used in FileMaker solutions by a very many developers.

My answer does not use copy nor paste. It uses set field and set variable. I referred to "copy" and "paste" only as a way to match the two steps to the copy and paste steps that they replace.

In a script, it would look like this:

Set variable [$VariableName ; YourTable::FieldToCopyFromHere ]
              Set Field [YourTable::FieldToPasteIntoHere ; $VariableName ]