5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2013 8:53 AM by philmodjunk

Back to Basics - set pointer on file, read, write

hoffmanjan@umkc.edu

Title

Back to Basics - set pointer on file, read, write

Hi,

I'm new to Advanced FM Pro 11.  I need to know the basics.  I understand about "find records" but what if I only need the data as input to another table based on a condition I set up in a script?

1) To set a pointer to read equal to a value, must I always perform a find on that table using the value? I do not want to display the table data? 

2) To read the first record , do I use the Go to Record/Request/Page[First]? And then where do I need to place the Go to Record/Request/Page[Next]?

3) "Do Until" and "Do While" are accomplished how? 

4) When using a Loop when does the read happen?  At the top or bottom of the loop?

PURPOSE:

I'm creating a record in a table only when one does not exist.  When creating the new record I use a set of data from a different table.  I do have a relationship between the 2 tables.  It is a 1 to Many relationship. I'm not displaying the table for the Many.  I am filling an array (repetitions field).

Should I use the Go to Related Record?

Thank you,

Janh

• 1. Re: Back to Basics - set pointer on file, read, write
          philmodjunk

While performing a find and using Go To record... is an option. It's not the only option. A relationship can be used to access a specific record or group of records.

You'll need to provide a more detailed example of what you are trying to accomplish before I can make a sufficiently detailed response.

One comment:

I am filling an array (repetitions field).