12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2013 11:49 AM by PeterMontague

Band and Orchestra Attendance Help

builder

Title

Band and Orchestra Attendance Help

Hello,   

I am fairly new to Filemaker (using version 10). I am trying to make a attendance list for music students enrolled in band and orchestra. So far I have the following.....

Student Record (studentID, name, instrument, grade, ensemble, etc.

Band Attendance (Date, bandIDfk)

Orchestra Attendance (Date, orchestraIDfk)

I have the tables related between the ensemble field and the repective bandIDfk and orchestraIDFK. The ensemble field is not a unique id (though each student has a unique id), it is a check box list of Orchestra, Concert Band, and Jazz Band. 

I then have a portal in each attendance layout that lists all the students' that have that ensemble selected in their student record. 

It displays the information exactly the way I want it too, But I thought I could add a "Present\Absent" field to each portal and have a checkbox display to take attendance, unfortunately they all get set to the same value which makes sense.... 

How can I added a field in the attendance layout that will give me the option of selecting a present\absent for each student record?

I hope I am explaining myself clearly.

Thanks so much

• 1. Re: Band and Orchestra Attendance Help
          philmodjunk

Builder,

You need separate records for each student, for each date. Your Attendance table should have:

Attendance:

Date:

StudentID

Present (a text field you can format as a check box.)

bandIDfk

You need a new table, let's call it Ensemble:

Date:

bandIDpk

Set up the following relationships

Ensemble:: (BandIDpk, Date) ---- = ---- Attendance(BandIDfk, Date)    (You're matching two pairs of fields here, date to date and ensemble type to ensemble type)

Ensemble::BandIDpk --- = --- Student Record::Ensemble