5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2010 2:11 PM by philmodjunk

Basic Relational Question

BobCutler

Title

Basic Relational Question

I'm a relative newbie using FileMaker. I'm using FM Pro 10.0v3 on a Mac running under OS X 10.6.2

I have begun a relational database setup which I will illustrate as follows.  A group of patients (the NAME Table) have had multiple surgeries (SURGERIES Table) and each surgery has several tables of data, ANESTHESIA being only one of them.

SURGERIES                            ANESTHESIA

NAME                                SurgNum  ----------------------- SurgNum

PatientNum  -----------------  PatientNum                          ============

==========                ============                  Description

PatientName                    DateOfSurgery                          SurgeryNum

PatientNum                      SurgeryNum

PatientNum

I need some ideas on how to quickly get from a selected patient to choose one of his surgeries (perhaps in a portal) and then jump to a selected layout of other data, such as Anesthesia.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Bob

• 1. Re: Basic Relational Question
          davidanders

A patient has single things unique to him included in Patient Table with PatientIDNumber.

A patient can have multiple surgeries, each surgery Surgery Table has things unique to that surgery, anestheisa (gas and or intravenous?)

A patient surgery could have multiple surgeons (Surgeons Table related to Surgery Table?)

etc? 

• 2. Re: Basic Relational Question
            BobCutler

David - Thanks for the prompt response

Let me try to describe it differently:

John Jones (Patient 14)

Surgery 1 - Date 2/3/2001

Anesthesia: Fields for Patient 1, Surgery 35

Surgery 2 - Date 5/6/2001

Anesthesia: Fields for Patient 1, Surgery 36

Surgery 3 - Date 8/9/2001

Anesthesia: Fields for Patient 1, Surgery 37

Mary Smith (Patient 47)

Surgery 1 - Date 3/4/2001

Anesthesia: Fields for Patient 2, Surgery 86