5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2009 1:54 AM by Sorbsbuster

Batch Find

hambonejwj

Title

Batch Find

I am trying to figure out how to do a "batch find" on our database.  I have a text file of first and last names from a recent event.  Rather than doing a manual lookup of each name, I would like to use this text file to do a "batch query".  The query would display all the records matching the names in the text file.  (A bonus would be to just use the first initial of the first name in the text file with the last name so we could pick up names that are not exact matches such as Jackie Nelson vs Jacquelyn Nelson.)  I want to be able to do data entry on the records matching the names in the text file.

The database in question is running Filemaker server 7 and the clients are Filemaker Pro 7.  The clients are hosted on Mac and Windows XP pro machines and Filemaker server is hosted on a Windows server machine.

Our members table has first and last name fields. 

I work as a volunteer tech for a non-profit and am not much beyond a beginner in Filemaker.  I have worked with relationships Filemaker and initially thought a Join operation could be used to find the records matching the first and last names.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Batch Find
          Sorbsbuster

Do you mean that you have, say, a Members Database listing (say) 1,000 members, and you have a listing of (say) 200 attendees at a recent event, and you want to find those 200 members among the 1,000?

If that is the case then you could have a table construction of the Members Table with all 1,000 members listed.  Duplicate the table (only for the sake of simplicity at this stage).  Call it 'Search Set'.  (When you establish an enduring purpose for it you could re-name it more appropriately, but this will show you the principle.)  Delete all the records from it and import all of the 200 names in the text file.