12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2012 4:18 PM by cirobruno

Beginner: Creating an "Offers" database.

CiroBruno

Title

Beginner: Creating an "Offers" database.

Dear sirs, good Morning.

I'm new to File Maker. I know what to do, but don't know how to do in FM. I'm trying to create an "Offers" database and I can't figure out how to select data from related tables. Let me give details of what I've been doing.

I've created 3 tables:

1) Customers table, with all data related to each customer (name, company, e-mail, phone, etc.)

2) Products table, with all data about each product (part #, name, description, price, etc.)

3) Offers table, with sequential offer number, date and other fields. This table is supposed to receive for each record a related customer from Customers table and a set of products from Products table.

Ok, my issue is to understand and implement in Offers table the selection of customer and products for each Offers' record. I have already created relationships from Customers table in Offers table., but when I create a new record in Offers, I can find no means to select a customer

I mean, I expect to create a new Offer ("+" button) and find in the layout a mean to select a customer and to select products to build the offer.

Any tips? Thank you.

Regards, Ciro.

• 1. Re: Beginner: Creating an "Offers" database.
          philmodjunk

Here's a demo file you can look at. Since you are likely using FileMaker 12, you will need to use Open from the file menu to create a converted copy of the file:

It's a simple invoicing demo and shows how you can select items from a value list and add them to a Line Items portal on the invoice.

• 2. Re: Beginner: Creating an "Offers" database.
            CiroBruno

Phil, it seems that there's no attachment in your post. Maybe you've forgotten to attach the file or it can have been filtered by the forum.