AnsweredAssumed Answered

Beginning Filmmaker Pro user requesting help building a database with a portal

Question asked by amanda on Nov 23, 2008
Latest reply on Dec 30, 2008 by raybaudi

Title

Beginning Filmmaker Pro user requesting help building a database with a portal

Dear FileMaker Pro Community,

I am new to FileMaker Pro and I am writing because I need a little bit of help creating a database I have envisioned. The database I am trying to create is for my own personal use, an extremely simple, stripped down contact manager. I do not want or need any complicated advanced features- what I am trying to build is something simple, elegant, pure and easy to use. I know that compared to what the FileMaker Pro Community is busy developing, the database I'm making is laughably simple. However, for me, it is still quite a challenge to build.

I will now describe in greater detail what I'm building. I have of course already created the CONTACTS table and its fields, but I don't know how to relate the CONTACTS table to the CORRESPONDENCE table, and I cannot figure out how to create a portal in the CONTACTS table in order to view and edit related records from the CORRESPONDENCE table. But to start from the beginning- here are details on the two tables in my database.

CONTACTS table
This table contains 7 fields:
1) First name
2) Last name
3) email address
4) phone number
5) Notes field A (in this field I would write, for instance, "I met Susan and John Bates and their children at the Smithsonian when I was visiting Washington D.C. in 2007." I will use this field for conducting keyword searches; for instance, if, in 2009, I wanted to reconnect with the Bates family, but I forgot their names, I could search the database for such keywords as "Washington," or "Smithsonian," and I would be able to bring up the record that way)