3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2014 12:39 PM by ChristianSmith

Behavior Issues with Duplicate Layouts

ChristianSmith

Title

Behavior Issues with Duplicate Layouts

I'm new to FileMaker, so apologies in advance...

I'm using FileMaker Pro 12 and I'm playing around with layouts in order to create a several Dashboards for use by different departments within my company. I've created a basic Layout that consists of a Header, Body and Footer. The Main Dashboard has 6 Buttons on it, each one linking to a different Dashboard. I can make the functionality of the buttons work without a problem. The issue I'm having, however, is that the duplicate layouts act weird when they're accessed. Specifically, the Header and Footer sections resize for no apparent reason. The main Dashboard with the 6 buttons always works fine, even when switching between Dashboards. But the duplicates always resize.

At first, it was both the header and footer that was doing it. I have text objects inside both sections. For the Header, I locked the top and sides in order to pin them to the top corners when the screen is resized. The footer has some contact information as a text object also, and I've anchored it on both sides to keep it centered when the screen resizes. The header and footer section, however, should remain a fixed size no matter what the screen size is (at least that's what I'm aiming for). 

I've been able to get the header to work right, but not the footer. I've gone setting by setting between Layouts and can't find anything that would be triggering it. I'm not really looking for a quick fix so much as a better explanation of what might control the resizing of the header and footer sections so I can understand why it's happening. The "why" is more important to me than the "how".

Any assistance would be appreciated. I will continue to scan the forums for any related issues that I might have missed in my first search.