7 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2009 10:20 AM by ehpowell

Bento 2 to Filemaker Pro 10

ehpowell

Title

Bento 2 to Filemaker Pro 10

I'm new to this.  Built a dB using the trial version of Bento 2, but I need to share the database across four users, so I purchased Filemaker Pro 10.  My thinking was that it would be easy to upload the Bento dB files and Filemaker Pro would import them easily and I wouldn't have to make any changes.

I guess I was wrong.  Now I've spent the $ on Pro 10, my Bento 2 trial has expired, and I'm in limbo with my database.

What am I missing? Is there an easy way to upgrade from Bento 2 to Pro 10 or is it labor intensive? 

• 1. Re: Bento 2 to Filemaker Pro 10
          davidhead

I am not endorsing this product since I have not used it. Just passing on the link:

http://www.macworld.com/article/134791/2008/07/fmpromigrator.html 

• 2. Re: Bento 2 to Filemaker Pro 10
            ehpowell

I accepted this as a solution ... by mistake.  This solution doesn't work.  i've already spent several hundred dollars.  The link calls for more money for a product I can't use so far.  I kinda feel misled.  This is the first time Apple has failed me with a product.

My IT guy suggested a similar solution, which, with your response, tells me it's too hard to just move Bento to Filemaker, look for a kluge and spend some money to get it to work. 

Isn't there any way, without spending more money or going to an outside product to get the two to sync?

• 3. Re: Bento 2 to Filemaker Pro 10
              Jade

ehpowell wrote:

Isn't there any way, without spending more money or going to an outside product to get the two to sync?