10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2015 12:03 PM by NiccoDeamus

Best method of entering multiple similar new individual records from a list in related DB

NiccoDeamus

Title

Best method of entering multiple similar new individual records from a list in related DB

sorry if this question is rather stupid...I am very new at this database stuff.

I have two related files containing records of cows.  one is a record of everything a cow does, the other is its medical history.  occasionally a whole group of cows in a field may have a medical treatment, a vaccination for instance, and this must be individually recorded in the medical record.  

what would be the best approach to automate this process?  the only variable is the ID of the cow which could be looked up from the field list in the cow records to create a new medical record entry, the treatment in the medical record would be the same for all animals

many thanks

• 1. Re: Best method of entering multiple similar new individual records from a list in related DB
          philmodjunk

There are different options and much depends on the design of your database.

Scripts can loop through records and assign values to fields.

Replace Field Contents--which can be done manually or in a script can update a specified field for every record in a found set.

And it's possible to set a value in one field and multiple other fields in the record look up (copy) or link to data in a related table.

• 2. Re: Best method of entering multiple similar new individual records from a list in related DB
            NiccoDeamus

thanks for that.

if i were to use a loop script, how would it run?  if i performed a find in the cow record, could the loop script in the medicine record request the batch medication information then run down the search result in the cow record and create a new medicine entry for each cow?  I think this would be the way to operate the script.