1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2011 10:00 AM by mgores

Best Option for Mentor/Student(s) Pairing

MonicaDeAngelis

Title

Best Option for Mentor/Student(s) Pairing

Annually our company hosts a Student Mentoring Week, where Students in the US apply and are paired with Professionals in the US based on location (nearest proximity) and availability (what day of the week they marked available). I am new to using FileMaker Pro and would love suggestions on the best way to set up the table(s)/relationships to be able to make this pairing process most efficient and functional.

I have explored the Contact Management and the Event Management Starter Solutions and see a great number of possibilities, but the tables and relations seem to get rather complex quickly.

Any ideas? Is this something that I should be able to do on my own (with my limited knowledge) or must I hire a professional programmer?

• 1. Re: Best Option for Mentor/Student(s) Pairing
          philmodjunk

FileMaker may be easier to use than most other DB systems, but databases are by their very nature complex structures and there's no avoiding that complexity once you get beyond a solution of just 2 or three tables of data and just a few relationships. It's a good idea to plan on investing in some time and effort learning about FileMaker and dataase design if you plan to create your own solution.