1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2012 6:59 AM by jlin

Best way to check data entry reliability between 2 people

jlin

Title

Best way to check data entry reliability between 2 people

Hello,

I am a Filemaker beginner using FMP 12 to code (or enter) data for quantitative research.  I have one coding partner who will code the same items, for the purpose of assessing our agreement on these items and computing statistical reliability.  What is the best way to do this in FMP?  I initially thought of making a set of duplicate fields just for the coder, but this seems messy.   

Pleate note that my coder does not have FMP and is going to code using Instant Web Publishing, though if necessary I will get another license.  

Any help would be appreciated! 

Thank you,

Joy

• 1. Re: Best way to check data entry reliability between 2 people
          philmodjunk

Can you explain what you mean by "computing statistical reliability"? in more detail?

You'll find that you have more interface design options available to you if you don't use Instant Web Publishing, BTW.

• 2. Re: Best way to check data entry reliability between 2 people
            jlin

Sorry for the confusion.  Please disregard the part about computing reliaiblity, as I will be doing the actual computing on a different program.  I was just trying to provide some context.

To illustrate, let's say I have a "survey" layout.  I need a way for 2 people to fill out the survey, and then to compare the values they enter for each item.  So on Item 1,  I may have a value list of "High," "Medium," and "Low," and I may code the item as "High."  My coder will also enter a value for this item, which may or may not be the same as what I enter.  Ultimately, I need to compare 2 sets of codes for each field on my survey.  Is there a way to do this that doesn't involve making duplicate fields- one for me, and one for the coder?