1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2009 10:10 AM by philmodjunk

Big picture question: Setting up the Structure.

4hotshoez

Title

Big picture question: Setting up the Structure.

I am new to FM, because Bento will not do all that I want to do.  I am trying to run a service business shoeing horses feet.  Horses live in stables with addresses and need to be scheduled and serviced regularly.  Horses have owners that pay the bill (invoice). Owners likely have more than one horse that may or may not live at the owners home. Each horse will have a record of past service (trim, shoe type and size, photos, measurments, notes, etc.), which should be reviewable for progress.  Horses also have vets and trainers that need to be contacted from time to time.  It seems that everything revolves around the horse, but the horse does not pay the bill.  What is the recommended structure to set this all up?  I have done the tutorial, but they do not give advice.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Big picture question: Setting up the Structure.
          philmodjunk

To bad horses can't pay the bill :smileywink:

Try listing things out on separate pieces of paper.

List one would be all the human info you need.

List two would be all the horse info

List three billing information

Etc.

As you work with each list, look for cases where you have one set of information in one list that matches up with multiple sets of information in another list--that's what we call a relationship.

Example: For a given Customer(human) record, you will have one or more Horse records. You'll need a relationship linking one customer record to many horse records.

Likewise you can have multiple bills that you present to your customers for payment and these bills can list multiple services rendered at that time.

Will that get you started?

Once you've got a good design on paper, you can start defining tables, fields and relationships.

• 2. Re: Big picture question: Setting up the Structure.