7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2013 3:12 PM by TylerBancroft

Birthday Sort For Beginners

TylerBancroft

Title

Birthday Sort For Beginners

I am a newbie to Filemaker and  I am having trouble figuring out a sort that I want: I am trying to send out a greeting to my clients on their birthdays.  The best I can do is sort based on year, with all the months in order.  How do I sort my clients based on their MONTH and DAY of birth, and completely disregard their year of birth?  My current birthday format is yyyy-mm-dd.  I tried searching the forums already, but everything I found went right over my head.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Birthday Sort For Beginners
          philmodjunk

Is the birthdate stored in either a field of type date?

If so, you can enter this criteria in a find to find all the people with a birthday on a given month and day:

If you want to find all people with a birthday on June 5th, enter this criteria:

6/5/*

If you are not storing your birthdates in a field of type date, you should change the design of your database so that you are storing them in date fields putting dates in text fields causes all sorts of issues you can avoid by using the correct data format for your field.

• 2. Re: Birthday Sort For Beginners
            TylerBancroft

Yes, I have the birthday stored in a Date Field, with yyyy-mm-dd as the format.  I don't really need to do a Find because all my clients have birthdays.  My problem is the Sort.  I want to run a sort and create a report with all my client's birhdays from January to December, not by Year they were born.  My problem is I don't know how to create the custom value sort under the Birthday field the right way to eliminate the year of birth, and then sort by month and then secondary sort by date.  

• 3. Re: Birthday Sort For Beginners
              philmodjunk

Sorry, but a number of posters say "sort" when they mean "search" and I mistakenly thought that's what you wanted from the context of your question.