7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2011 3:17 PM by CarlJones

Bold and Highlighting in text fields

CarlJones

Title

Bold and Highlighting in text fields

I am quite new to filemaker. I am trying to use the conditional formatting to highlight specific workds in a text field that will have several complete paragraphs in it. I want to highlight them simply for reader awareness. I have tried using the conditional formatting. The value formatting wants to highlight the entire paragraph when I use the following "shall". It sees the shall word and highlights the entire paragraph. Then I tried using the formula TextStyleAdd which seem like it would be perfect. I cannot get this to work in the original text field. I am very new to this. Can someone please help me with this issue. Thanks

Carl Jones

• 1. Re: Bold and Highlighting in text fields
          philmodjunk

Conditional formatting can only be used to apply formats to the entire layout object. It can't be used to apply formatting to just a part of the object such as a selected word within the text field.

Perform Find/Replace can be used to highlight the first instance of the word, but I don't see an option that will highlight all instances of the word.

It is possible to create a looping script, recursive custom function (requires FileMaker Advanced to create), or a recursive calculation that will highlight all instances of a selected word in a text field.

• 2. Re: Bold and Highlighting in text fields
            CarlJones

Thanks. I have struggled three days with this. I am thinking of purchasing Filemaker Advanced. I want to work with documentation that is already created, in Work, PDF, and Excel. I want to pull th information into filemaker and break it up into sections. I hope this program will work for me. Thanks for the help...

• 3. Re: Bold and Highlighting in text fields
              philmodjunk