1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2010 8:49 AM by philmodjunk

Brand New to Databases / Filemaker  a few questions...

paintboothguy

Title

Brand New to Databases / Filemaker  a few questions...

Hello all, 

I am brand new to this software and don't know much of anything.  I am using the trial version of Pro 10.  I am working on a Mac.  My first task is to try and set up a product list that has product ID #'s, descriptions, retail and dealer costs.  I then need to be able to generate Invoices and have all fields populated automatically when I enter a product ID#.

I have downloaded the 'Invoices Demo,' and I believe I generally understand the concept, but I am confused on the following.

#1.  Why is there a 'Line Items' table in between the Invoices and Products tables.  What does this accomplish?

#2.  If I want to generate (hopefully) lots of invoices in the future, do I make a new 'Layout/Report' and Call it an Invoice? 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

-Thanks, Andrew 

• 1. Re: Brand New to Databases / Filemaker  a few questions...
          philmodjunk

Answering number 1:

LineItems are used in a portal so that one invoice can list any number of individual items purchased on that one invoice. If you are unfamiliar with portals, this is a useful term to look up in Filemaker's help in order to learn more about it.

On question #2:

Are you asking "do I create a new layout for each invoice?" If so, then no. You will create a new record on an invoices layout for each new invoice.

• 2. Re: Brand New to Databases / Filemaker  a few questions...
            mrvodka

The line items exists because it serves as a join table when you have many records to many records between the Invoice itself which should store all pertinent invoice specific information such as date, customer, etc and the table of products.