6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2013 9:52 AM by paul350passaic

Button for automatic Time Stamp using repeating fields

paul350passaic

Title

Button for automatic Time Stamp using repeating fields

Hi all,

Im new in filemaker (and have no background in scripting or programming). Im using filemakerpro for small buisness. So pardon my non-technical terms :)

Im trying to set/add a button in the free TimeCard template from filemaker so it will automaticaly fill the StartTime and EndTime with the current time(so no more manual inputing of time). I saw this article advising to use this script:

SetField[Yourtable::timestampfield, get(currentTimeStamp)]

It worked well but for the first field only. The StartTime and EndTime field is a "repeating field" so the button only fills the ist field. 

Any help would be appreciated :) Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Button for automatic Time Stamp using repeating fields
          philmodjunk

When you double click the script step to get the dialog for selecting the field for the first parameter, you'll see that there's a field in the dialog for specifiying the repetition.

SetField[Yourtable::timestampfield[2], get(currentTimeStamp)]

Will set the second repetition of the timeStampField.

SetField[Yourtable::timestampfield[$k], get(currentTimeStamp)]

will set the repetition determined by the value of $K.

• 2. Re: Button for automatic Time Stamp using repeating fields
            paul350passaic

Thanks for the quick reponse PhilModJunk! That was easy... It was right infront of me :) 

• 3. Re: Button for automatic Time Stamp using repeating fields
              philmodjunk

Easy, but the starter solution you have selected make sthe unfortunate choice to use repeating fields. They are rarely the best design choice for a database and I had I developed this starter solution, I would not have used them.

• 4. Re: Button for automatic Time Stamp using repeating fields
                paul350passaic