3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 19, 2013 2:51 PM by philmodjunk

Button to perform Find against current user and name_first name_last

RayGerman

Title

Button to perform Find against current user and name_first name_last

Hello,

I am just getting into scripts with filemaker and have a relatively simple problem. I have created a script button that automatically goes to a layout I created and finds the record for the user with the first name Don.

I would like to perform a more advanced script to Get the current account name and perform a find on the users name_first & name_last.

My table has a concatenated field for name_first & name_last... so only need to know how to have the script search the current username logged into the database.  

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Ray

ScreenShot.png

• 1. Re: Button to perform Find against current user and name_first name_last
          philmodjunk

Get ( accountName ) will return the current account name.

That can be used with one of the scripted find examples found here: Scripted Find Examples

• 2. Re: Button to perform Find against current user and name_first name_last
            RayGerman

I think I understand, and have found a script but am having trouble setting a variable to cache the account name for the find.

I created a new script and am using the edit script feature. I am at the second step Set Variable but I do not see a way to set  Substitute. All I can seem to create is Set Variable [$name; Value:( Get (AccountName))].

Any ideas?  I included the script and a screen shot of the script editor.

Set Error Capture [On]

Set Variable [ $name; Substitute (Get ( AccountName ) ) ]

Enter Find Mode []

Set Field [ < field you want to search> ; $name ]

Perform Find []

If [ Get (FoundCount) = 0 ]

Show Custom Dialog [ "Warning" ; "No Records Found" ]

End If

Set Error Capture [Off]

• 3. Re: Button to perform Find against current user and name_first name_last
              philmodjunk