5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2008 6:55 AM by TSGal

Buttons help

AppleCow

Title

Buttons help

Hi, I'm fairly new to FMP and I want to make something similar to the starter template Contact Manager where the top 3 buttons allow for easy access to the three different views. I am uncertain on how to proceed so I hope someone here can help me. I basically want it to 

1. Change color (from blue to gray and vice versa) depending on the view

2. Actually changing the view from form to list to table

Thank you. 

Johnny 

• 1. Re: Buttons help
          TSGal

AppleCow:

Thank you for your post.

With the Contacts Management database open, pull down the View menu and select Layout Mode.  This shows you how the layout was created.  If you click on one of the objects at the top (New, Edit, List view, etc.), you can then pull down the Format menu and select Button Setup...  and you will see that each of the objects are executing a script.  Some are switching to a different layout, some are adding a record, etc.  This should give you some ideas how changing views is set up by these buttons.  Especially, between form to list to table.

"Change color" can mean a number of things.  If you want the color of the layout to change, you can duplicate a layout, and put a blue or gray background.  That will allow you to switch back and forth between the layouts where the only change is the color.

Let me know if you have additional questions about the layout and/or the buttons.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Buttons help
            AppleCow

That was quick! 

I managed to get the script itself working on my own database by copying and making some small changes. Thank you for the tip regarding checking the scripts.