7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2012 3:11 PM by philmodjunk

Caculated field based on arrival and departure

LisaSheard

Title

Caculated field based on arrival and departure

I am trying to create a caculated field called Thursday night.  I want it to be based on the following: accomodations is a yes, they are arriving on Wednesday or Thursday AND not departing on Wednesday or Thursday - basically they need a room for Thursday night.  Here is what I have that is not working.  I am fairly new to Filemaker and am working with a database that someone else created.  Any help would be appreciated. 

filemaker.jpg

• 1. Re: Caculated field based on arrival and departure
          philmodjunk

iS arrivedate a text field or a field of type date? What you have set up only works if that field is of type text. If it is of type date, you need to use:

DayName ( Registration2012::arrivedate )  to get the text naming the day of the week.

It would appear your logic needs adjustment also:

Put this inside the first If function...

Let ( [ adn = registration2012::arrivedate ; // or dn = dayname ( registration2012::arrivedate )
                    ddn = registration2012::departuredate ; // or ddn = dayname ( registration2012::departuredate )
                 if ( patterncount ( "WednesdayThursday" ; adn ) and not patterncount ( "wednesdaythursday" ; ddn ) ; "yes" ; "no" )
                )

note; there's nothing wrong syntaxwise with using:

adn = "Thursday" or adn = "wednesday"

patterncount( "WednesdayThursday" ; adn ) just makes for a simpler expression here.

• 2. Re: Caculated field based on arrival and departure
            LisaSheard

Thanks PhilModJunk,

The arrive date and the depart date are both text fields and the accomodation field is a yes/no.  I have tried what you suggested and ended up with this below.  Filemaker won't accept it - the error is that List usage is not allowed in this calculation.  Cry 

• 3. Re: Caculated field based on arrival and departure