9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2010 5:29 AM by Pebbles

Calculating a date with a future age

Pebbles

Title

Calculating a date with a future age

Hello, I am using FM 10 on Windows XP. I am fairly new at this program but I have created a one to many relational database with multiple fields.  

What I need now is to calculate a date based on a future age of a child. 

For example I have a EOE date (End of Eligibility) on my parent table.  I need to create a EOE date on the child's table based on when the child turns 22 yrs of age.  In other words I want to calculate the future date of when the child turns 22 yrs of age based on the end of eligibility date on the parents table.  

The calculation for the EOE on the parents table was simple this is what I have for that: 

(three QAD + 1095) which is basically the qualifying arrival date plus 3 yr. 

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thank you

• 1. Re: Calculating a date with a future age
          ninja

Howdy Pebbles,

Would DOB happen to be one of the fields you have on your parent table?  Could you just add 22 years to that field?

• 2. Re: Calculating a date with a future age
            Pebbles

Hello Ninja, 

The DOB field is on the child table with a portal on the parent table.  

• 3. Re: Calculating a date with a future age
              ninja

Howdy,

This may seem like a "duh" question, but I don't know all the details of your dbase's function...

Could there ever be more than one child record per parent record?

If not, what is the purpose of the child table?

If so, how do you distinguish which child record the 22yrs should be based upon?  We can then use that distinction to get your calc done.

• 4. Re: Calculating a date with a future age
                ninja

Pebbles wrote:

In other words I want to calculate the future date of when the child turns 22 yrs of age based on the end of eligibility date on the parents table.