6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2013 4:59 PM by marcg_1

Calculating a field using find

marcg_1

Title

Calculating a field using find

Hello, I'm trying to calculate a field in one table based on a find in another, here's an example.

I have two tables.  There's a table named Parents of all parents with the fields: parentName, birthdayOfYoungestChild .  There's a table named Children of all children with the fields: parentName, birthday.  I'd like to have Parents::birthdayOfYoungestChild be a calculated field created by

- using Parents::parentName to find all records in Children with a matching Children::parentName (there might be many)

- sorting those records in ascending order by Children::birthday

- inserting the birthday from the first record of the sorted list into Parents::birthdayOfYoungestChild

I'm a newb and confused.  Scripts appear to be necessary for the find and sort -- they don't seem to be supported in field calculations -- and I don't see how I can use the output of a script in the calculation of a field value ...???

Any pointer or headstart (or complete answer :) ) would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Calculating a field using find
          philmodjunk

What you need is a relationship, not a find. With a relationship, you can match a given record in Parent to all related children records and then we can use the relationship to get the birthday of the youngest child.

But you shouldn't use a parent's name in the relationship. It's possible to have two different people with the same name and people also change their names. Use an auto-entered serial number field instead.

Parent-------<Child
               Parent::__pkParentID = Child::_fkParentID

Then you can specify a sort order for this relationship that sorts the related Child records by age and then Child::Birthday on the Parent layout will return the birthday of the youngest child.