6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 22, 2012 5:11 PM by CarlWeston

Calculating hours worked in a given week

CarlWeston

Title

Calculating hours worked in a given week

I have searched the forums but I can't seem to get the answer I'm looking for.

I am a freelance graphic designer and get paid by the hour. I have created my own Timesheet.

I am trying to get the total income earned for a specific week.

For instance, I have 1 record per day showing the current date, time start, time finish, hours worked, rate, income earned, tax and total hours worked for the day.
           If I worked for 5 days this week, how do I calculate what the total earnings are for those 5 days?

For example;
           17 Dec = 9hrs
           18 Dec = 8.25hrs
           19 Dec = 9hrs
           20 Dec = 8.5hrs
           21 Dec = 9.5hrs
           Total Hours worked for the week = 44.25, multiply this by my rate and I get the total income earned for that week (+ tax).

Obviously this is really simple with a calculator, but for the life of me I can't seem to get my head around how to do this automatically in Filemaker.

Any help or examples of calculations would be appreciated.

Cheers,
           Carl.

• 1. Re: Calculating hours worked in a given week
          philmodjunk

If you perform a find for all records in a given week, you can use a date range criterion: 12/17/2012...12/21/2012 in your find, a summary field will then accurately report the total hours for that week.

If you use this calculation:

DateField - DayOfWeek ( DateField ) + 1

With "date" as the return type, you get the date for Sunday of the same week. You can use such a field in sorting and in relationships to get weekly totals as well.

• 2. Re: Calculating hours worked in a given week
            CarlWeston

Thanks Phil for your feedback.

Is there a way I can do this without performing a find? There are a lot of records I would need find week by week to get the result.