5 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2013 7:53 AM by ninja

Calculation

Ali_1

Title

Calculation

Hi Guys,

I'm new in FMP12 and I need to do this calculation:

I have 3 fields:

Field 1 (Package Name) Packages are: (Orkid, Mawar, Kemboja, Cempaka) which is choosable

Field 2 (Package Price)   Orkid=RM196, Kemboja=RM136, Mawar=RM116, Cempaka=RM96

Field 3 (STMB)  is the fix amount:   RM196=STMB (RM52) ,  RM136=STMB (RM32) , RM116=STMB (RM30) , RM96=STMB (RM10)

When I choose the Orkid Package from field 1 which is drop down menu, then outomaticly show RM196 in Field 2 (Package price) and show RM52 in Field 3 (STMB).

Is any body here can help me to do this,

Regards,

Ali

Capture1.jpg

• 1. Re: Calculation
          IT_User

Hello,

There are a couple ways this could be accomplished, I think.

You can use a script trigger and a script when a Plan name has been chosen.

Script Trigger: OnObjectSave (or OnObjectModify)

Script:

If ( packageNameField = "Orkid" )

Set Field [ packagePriceField ; 196 ]

Set Field [ stmbField ; 52 ]

Else If (packageNameField = "Kemboja" )

Set Field [ packagePriceField ; 136 ]

Set Field [ stmbField ; 32 ]

etc.

End If

However, that would only update if you use this field on this layout.

You can also use an autoenter with the "Do no replace existing value of field (if any)" unchecked, and have something similar enter in as the autoenter calculation (Calculated value).

However, that limits you to only those packages, if you ever need to edit or add a new one, that could get tiresome.

So if you have a related table of the packages, you can still use the autoenter.  But this time it will call the fields from the related table (connected by relationship with the packageName[ID]).  Then you don't have to worry about the calculations of listing the exact name.

Hope that helps (HTH)

• 2. Re: Calculation
            ninja