14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2010 2:30 PM by LaRetta_1

calculation fields

storywizard

Title

calculation fields

Hello all:

I am just starting work on a couple of calculation fields. I am really new at this

.Attached is my layout. Here is a description of the calculations, one is fairly simple, the second one is a mind bender for me, anyway...

1: The Lead time field, which will be the PartDueDate  minus the DateSubmitted

2: The PartStatus field which has one of four results, each with a different colour...

1. If DateCompleted is blank and DueDate is not passed then PartStatus will be InProcess 
      2. If DateCompleted is blank and DueDate is passed then PartStatus will be OverDue 
      3. If DateCompleted has a date that is on or before DueDate then PartStatus will be Complete 
      4. If DateCompleted has a date that  is after DueDate then PartStatus will be CompletedLate

Any help as I make my way through this will be greatly appreciated as always...

Storywizard

• 1. Re: calculation fields
          philmodjunk

The colors can be applied with conditional formats.

Case ( IsEmpty ( DateCompleted ) and ( DueDate > Get ( CurrentDate ) ) ; "InProcess" ;

IsEmpty ( DateCompleted ) ; "OverDue" ;

DateCompleted < DueDate ; "Complete" ;

DateCompleted > DueDate ; "CompletedLate" )

• 2. Re: calculation fields
            LaRetta_1

Calculation can also be written:

Case (

NOT DateCompleted ;
            Case ( PartDueDate   ≥   Get ( CurrentDate ) ; "In Process"  ; "OverDue" ) ;
            Case ( DateCompleted   ≤  PartDueDate ; "Complete" ; "CompletedLate" )
            )

As for conditional formatting, if you've never done it before, here's a jump-start. 

Select your PartStatus field and enter 'Formula is' and Self= "In Process".  Then select blue text below.  Add each status exactly the same.

UPDATE: BTW, I couldn't figure out how the Lead Time entered into this and maybe it doesn't.  So I just went by your example in Item #2. :smileyhappy: