Calculation for automatic pricing by client

NicAs

Title

Calculation for automatic pricing by client

Hi i'm new to filemaker

I have this relation

client id --< Order id --< stock id

product id >-- product table

in the stock i would like to have an automatic price that is different for the same product, depending on the client. how can i do that?

• 1. Re: Calculation for automatic pricing by client
          TKnTexas

To clarify your question, when you invoice WIDGET1 which normally sells for $2.50, you the look up to return a different price because it is a specific client?  Or you want to change the price on the fly as you bill this client?  

• 2. Re: Calculation for automatic pricing by client
            NicAs

In fact i want both

i want the price to automatically return a different price depending on the client 

and i want to be able to change it on the fly as i bill the client (to to be a calculation that i cannot change…)

• 3. Re: Calculation for automatic pricing by client
              TKnTexas

You can make the price a look up.  I am sure you could create a secondary price on the line item that is the price from a related table to the client.  Or on the client profile you might have a percentage that is a discount from the regular price.  You could accept that price or overwrite with a new price.  Once the invoice is committed you security could make the price fixed (locked in). 

In a catering application, I provided the menu price but provided a field for custom price.  I think checked THAT price to make sure it was not too low.  You have a lot of options.

• 4. Re: Calculation for automatic pricing by client
                ElpicFayl

HI!

New here,

I am having the same difficulty here being new to Filemaker I am trying to have a price of the product depending of the client, the price is not a discount from the regular one, but created independently.

But I think that my relations between my tables are a bit mixed up.