6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2011 10:35 AM by FentonJones

calculation in a field

keiththirgood

Title

calculation in a field

I'm a complete beginner at Filemaker (I don't even know the terms for the various functions and features). What I'm trying to do is create an inventory of artwork. 

I have a field that has a drop down list of painting sizes. (5 x 7, 8 x 10, etc.)

I created a "table" with the cost of artwork according to size. (I also created a table with the corresponding prices. I even managed to create relationships between the sizes and the prices.

What I want is, when I choose a size from the drop down, the cost field in the record for that piece of art automatically fills in with the cost corresponding to the size.

I can't figure out how to do that.

I've attached a screen shot to show what I think I've done so far. 

I need very careful explanations, as I've very usnsure of the steps to do things and the names of fields, actions, etc.

I'm on a Mac, using Filemaker Pro 9 Advanced.

Picture_28.png

• 1. Re: calculation in a field
          FentonJones

If paintings only exist in the fixed sizes, then you only need 1 table for a "size vs. price reference" table (known as a "lookup table"), with 1 Size and 1 Price field (that's all). There's no need for a separate Prices table. In that case you'd just need a relationship (from your "sales" table) based on Size. The Price in "sales" would be a Lookup, based on that relationship. This is an auto-enter option.

If however, there are paintings between the sizes (18x19 for example), then you'd need a way to get the price. There is a Lookup (next higher) function. But that would mean that the sizes would need to sort in the same order as the prices; either alphabetically, numerically, or by sq in (multiplying the 2 sides), with no exceptions.