7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2010 9:35 AM by philmodjunk

Calculation thru relation or subset of records?

liquidcooled

Title

Calculation thru relation or subset of records?

I'm new to FM and I'm creating a multiple location database. I'm currently working on showing totals for each item in each location.

I have 3 tables that I think the data should relate from.

My Inventory list (which shows the general description of my items)

Item ID

Name

cQtyonHand (which ads up the cItemBal from the Item_transaction table) 

Item Transaction Table 

fk_ItemID

fk_LocationID

fk_transactionID

QtyAdd

QtyRmvd

cItemBal (QtyAdd-QtyRmvd)

Location Table 

_pk_locationID

Location Description 

I currently have a lay out based on the Inventory list which shows Item information total on hand and has a portal to the location table and displays where the items are. What I want to add to that portal is how many of each item are in each location. It should be a calculation that totals the cItemBal, but only for the item on that layout and for each location it is in. So I think that its somehow but a subset and relational, but I'm not getting it to work.

Thanks 

• 1. Re: Calculation thru relation or subset of records?
          philmodjunk

I think a summary report with sub-summary parts based on Location will give you the same information in a more flexible format.

Add a subsummary part with fk_ItemID as its break field ("sorted by")

Add a subsummary part with fk_locationID selected as its break field  

Place fields about the specific Item in the first subsummary part.

Place your location field and your summary field in the second subsummary part.

Delete the body part.

Sort your records by fk_ItemID, fk_LocationID

and you should get the report you want.

If you'd like to learn more, here's a link to a simple tutorial on setting up summary reports that you may find useful:

Creating Filemaker Pro summary reports--Tutorial