12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2012 9:30 AM by schamblee

Calculation to sum a sub-set of records in related table

NithyaLakshmanan

Title

Calculation to sum a sub-set of records in related table

Hello,

I am a Filemaker Newbie. I have 2 tables: Donors and Donations. They are related by a join on Name and Address fields. And it is a 1:many relationship from Donors:Donations.

Now I need to display on the donation entry form a field that summarizes the amount for a specific SchoolYear:

CurrentYearTotal = sum(Donations Amount) where SchoolYear = "2012-2013". 

How do I define this calculation field? I was able to define a calculation field on the Donors table = Sum(Donations::Amount). But how do I add the filter/where condition to only sum over records only for the current year. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Calculation to sum a sub-set of records in related table
          schamblee

Here is a sample app that may help you out

https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D9559058_790_729182087

• 2. Re: Calculation to sum a sub-set of records in related table
            schamblee

I made a small update to the sample.  Also I forgot to mention that you should use a serialize idkey to link records instead of names and address.  Names and address can change, which will create problem down the road.  

Good Luck.

• 3. Re: Calculation to sum a sub-set of records in related table
              NithyaLakshmanan

Thanks. I checked out your sample. While I understand how you have calculated the summary in the Donations layout, I would really like to see the summary for the current school year in the DonorSample layout where the donations are being entered for each donor.  Could you suggest a way in which I can achieve this?