6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2012 12:05 PM by philmodjunk

Calculations on new records

SiaranMorgan-Lloyd

Title

Calculations on new records

Please help!

I'm very new to Filemaker Pro on the mac and therefore this may be a simple query.

I have created a DB where some of the fields perform calcualtions based on entries elseqhere.  THese all work correctly until I add a new record.

Although I input the information the DB fails to make the calcuations for the new record?

Please can you advise what I'm doing wrong

thanks

• 1. Re: Calculations on new records
          Sorbsbuster

Do you have an example of a calculation that fails?

• 2. Re: Calculations on new records
            SiaranMorgan-Lloyd

If ( FFT AS 1="A" ; 60; If ( FFT AS 1="B" ; 50 ; If ( FFT AS 1="C" ; 40 ; If ( FFT AS 1="D " ; 30 ; If ( FFT AS 1="E" ; 20 ; "")))))

Like I said, it works for the exisiting records but when I add a new record it fails to calculate??

thank

• 3. Re: Calculations on new records
              Sorbsbuster

I think you should check out 'Case Statement' in Help, you'd find it is very much easier to write that kind of expression,and much easier to de-bug.

Are you sure it never evaluates, or is it just with records where FFT AS 1 = D?  Your test has "D[space]" in it, in case that was not intentional.

• 4. Re: Calculations on new records
                philmodjunk

rewriting it into a Case function (and I removed the extra space Wink):

Case ( FFT AS 1="A" ; 60;
                           FFT AS 1="B" ; 50 ;
                           FFT AS 1="C" ; 40 ;
                           FFT AS 1="D" ; 30 ;
                           FFT AS 1="E" ; 20
                          ) 

And Here is an alternative to Case:

If ( PatternCount ( "ABCDE" ; FFT AS 1 ) ; 60 - ( Code ( Upper ( FFT AS 1 ) ) - Code ( "A" ) ) * 10 )